The Research Cycle

Ahh.. the last blog post.. I never thought I would make it to this day. However, my research project is indeed quite far away.

It all started back in February at the library. I was so lost on what topic to choose and time was running out. I was frantically scrambling through the Cracked.com website but I just could not figure out the right topic.

confused

Suddenly, I happened on some environmental myths. I thought, “Okay, this can work… I mean pretty much every modern controversy has something to do with environment, right?”

I noticed the myth titled “Local food isn’t actually much better than imported food.” This one caught my eye, not because I am familiar with the topic, but because I have never heard of it before in my life. So, I figured this would be a good topic because I can come at it from a fresh and unbiased point of view. Little did I know what frustrations awaited me.

images

The main problem I had with this topic was actually finding studies done on it. I should have known from when I first started that if I had never heard of this controversy, that there wouldn’t be much research to find on it. Every article I found that was actually somewhat helpful was sacred to me because they were few and far between.

The words “food miles” were just about the only way to get good sources on this subject. I originally thought this was my Eureka moment but then I realized there was a big problem with this. That problem is that most of the articles I found were based solely on food miles, and that didn’t help me explore the other parts of this argument. I have a lot of research on the carbon emissions from transportation between the growing site and the market where goods are bought and consumed, but not much else. Unfortunately, this has made my data collection rather linear.

Overall, I do think this has been a decent research project so far, however it hasn’t been my most successful research project by far. I think that with the sources I have, I will be able to put together a good paper. I am a little worried on how the video will turn out, because I don’t really know how to make a video of my project. I do face a big challenge ahead.

imagesCATQ8GNA

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

