It’s Been a Long Time Coming (Blog 10)

 

Image

This by far has been the most extensive research experience I have been apart of in my academic existence.  And looking back it really hasn’t been that bad.  However, don’t take me the wrong way I have most definitely had my struggles. Early into the research process I quickly began to experience hardships. 

Image

After finding an article on Cracked, I was actually very enthusiastic to further dive into the research of the myth that natural drugs are not necessarily better for you than synthetic drugs.  After a few days of researching I quickly realized that surprisingly there were not many academic articles that compared natural and synthetic drugs.  So then I decided to just research the effects of natural drugs on the body.  I found a little more information but still nothing that was going to provide me with enough information to write a whole paper on.  By this point I was pretty much ready to pull my hair out. 
Image

But suddenly I remembered that I am in college and when it comes to writing I don’t have a teacher hounding me on little specific details that don’t seem relative the paper I am trying to write.  This is when i decided to change my topic around.  I decided to change my topic to the effects of Heroin.  One of heroin’s most harmful substance is a called opium which is actually naturally found in the poopy seed.  This was interesting to me because obviously heroin is altered by humans but one of the most lethal substances in the drug comes from a natural plant.  This opened up a whole new world of research. 
Image

My lightbulb had been switched on and suddenly i was provided with more information than i knew what to do with.  I found all sorts of articles from Jstor that talked about economic issues, child birth complications, drug related crime, and all other sorts of things linked with the use of heroin.  After finding all of these great articles on scholarly sources my mind was never tempted to google, or peek at any random sight that i found on the internet relating to my topic.  The main thing that i have learned through the process of research this year is that you are not always going to find exactly what you are looking for right away, but with persistence and tweeking, not twerking, you can really have a lot of fun and find great things to work with. 

One thought on “It’s Been a Long Time Coming (Blog 10)

Leave a Reply

