Blog Post 9#: This List of Economic Writings that Almost Killed Me

This is it. It’s almost finished. Two more blog posts. I’m getting emotional just thinking about it…

So, someone asked me the other day “Grant, what sources are you planning to use in your paper about China buying the U.S.?” (The person being Professor Tunningley, and the question being better represented by an assignment sheet). Today, I am here to answer that question.

First off, I have the Cracked article. Written by Marcus O’Reilly, it covers, as the name suggests, “5 Scary Myths You Probably Believe About the Economy“. It covers a wide range of things, as my Blog Post 1 suggests. Since I feel I have already covered that one pretty well, I’m going to skip it. Feel free to check out that Blog Post for more info.

Second, I have a few books. “A New Economic View of American History” by Susaan Previant Lee and Peter Passell. I goes over several points in American History, and looks at it from an economic perspective. I’m hoping to find instances of cases similar to this situation in China in which we got into economic “trouble” with another nation. Next, I have “Asian Money Markets” by Cole Scott Wellons. This piece covers a (much more brief) history of Asian Economics. I am hoping to find information in this piece about, you guessed it, similar occurrences in China.

Third, I have an interview. Yes, a real live interview! I mean… from a book… But it’s still an interview! In “A Vision for the Future”, edited by Luc Keulendeer, Dirk Swagerman, and Willem Verhoog, a Mr. J. Lintjer is interviewed about then-current Far East economic woes, and how their banking system is constructed.

Four our internet sources (See what I did? It’s a really bad pun!), I found most of them linked from the cracked source itself. There is “China’s Treasury Holdings Makes U.S. Debt Their Own“, from the NY Times written by David Barboza about how China buying up our debt is doing nothing more than make our problems their problems. Then, there is another NY Times article by Paul Krugman, who’s title “Nobody Understands Debt“, pretty much sums up my experience with this research. He basically says that all the hype about China buying U.S. debt is just hype, and that 9 times out of 10, the Capital’s economic correspondents have no clue what they are talking about. Finally, from Business Insider, we have the case of writer Joe Weisenthal. His work, titled “Here’s the REAL Reason Japan and China Own So Much U.S. Debt”. This piece was covered very fully in my blog post about it, so for more, click here. (<- No, over there).

Finally, I have one last academic article. And, of course, it contradicts everything I have said so far. “Debt Crisis and Candy Cigarettes” was covered very fully by another of my blog posts, so to see this one, click here. (Just kidding click here.)

https://i0.wp.com/www.carlascio.com/images/Victory.jpg

That’s it. It’s finished. One annotated blog-style bibliography. Now for naps.

One thought on “Blog Post 9#: This List of Economic Writings that Almost Killed Me

Leave a Reply

