Blog #6: Revision of Infomercial/ How Much I Suck at Databasing

When I first started using the Library Database, I was impressed with how easy it was to use. The simplicity of filtering through different types of content made searching for article made the search almost fun. Having done research papers in the past without any training towards how to use a database, I can tell that it is going to make searching for sources much less complicated than being thrown into a library and told “go”. I was able to find three academic article related to my topic in minutes.

I did have one problem with the libraries system. Apparently, in order to search through the databases, you have to be logged in or on campus. I had a little trouble longing in. For 4 hours. On the worst internet connection I had used in my life. I even managed to pull one article up, but then it denied me access to the full article. However, once I was back on campus, I had no problems at all.

The sources that I found seem like they are going to be extremely helpful to my paper. I searched primarily for academic articles, since my Cracked article had none cited. The sources all seem like they will be very helpful in the long run, but, as is almost any economic article, they are extremely boring to read. But that’s the challenge I set for myself, right? To accept the most boring and challenging topic and make it interesting? (What is wrong with me…)

The sources, with such captivating titles as “The Role of China in the U.S. Debt Crisis”, “China Buys Up U.S. Debt”, and the (actually interesting sounding) “Debt Crisis and Candy Cigarettes”, are filled with promising info about why China is currently buying U.S. debt and what may come of it in the future. Interestingly enough, it seems like they may not be in full support of the ideas put forth by Cracked. Only time will tell!

Leave a Reply

