Same Thing Different Day

I started out my search by selecting the database that I wanted to search in. I selected ProQuest and EBSCO to do my search in.

ProQuest was much harder then EBSCO to find good articles with.

On ProQuest I had to get a lot more general with my search to even find any sources while I did find four articles. My article from The New York Times said, “The food industry has already been fighting legislation in the Senate backed by Dianne Feinstein of California that would ban bisphenol-A, commonly found in plastics and better known as BPA, from food and beverage containers.” My article BPA In Plastic Bottles-Another View says that the FDA made a mistake in reviews of studies about BPA causing harm. It also says that they failed to take into account the fact that microwaving could increase the amount of BPA in baby formula or milk. The FDA also relied too much on studies made by companies that make BPA. These two articles are very helpful. They also contradict what my Cracked.com article said about microwaving food in plastic. My Cracked.com article said that microwaving food with plastic does not release toxins. However, the articles that I found from ProQuest say that it does release toxins.

On EBSCO I found a lot more articles then I did on ProQuest. However, some of the articles I found on EBSCO were not that helpful. This one article only had small paragraphs about microwaving plastics which was not very helpful. However, I did find a helpful article. The article is Microwaving Food in Plastic: Dangerous or Not? this article is from Harvard Women’s Health Watch. It talks about how substances for making plastics can leak out during microwaving. The article says this is actually more likely to happen in fatty food such as meat and cheeses. The article says, “The FDA, recognizing the potential for small amounts of plasticizers to migrate, closely regulates plastic containers and materials that come into contact with food.” At the end of the article it gives guidelines about how to microwave foods properly.

Leave a Reply

