Where good researchers go to die

Image

Ahh. The infamous Library databases. What I like to call the place where good researchers go to drown. We’ve all been there; 4th floor of the library, 3:00 a.m. researching topics that are no where near related to what we started on 3 days ago all because of the vast majority of these massive databases. Its easy to get lost.

As for me, I’ve been using these databases for a year and a half now, including a summer of classes and to be honest I feel quite confident looking for sources. All the articles I’ve found so far, aside from the cracked.com one, have come from the OSU library. One thing I have yet to use was the “related articles” button. I thought “What the heck! I’ll give it a try!” Low and behold, a new article I had not come across yet. The article was titled “Another Foul called on the NBA”, which immediately caught my eye. The abstract explains recent tribulation throughout the National Basketball Association; the Donaghey Scandal, the worst TV ratings in history, and overall fan disinterest.  Hell, even the fans of one of the league’s best teams have trouble showing up to games. Image

Notice all the empty seats?

I’m running out of ideas for searching these databases though. There’s only so many different combinations of words you can type into that bar. Luckily, there’s plenty of related newspaper articles. I think i’ll be able to introduce a topic within the topic with newspaper articles and then support the claim with research studies from the databases. I’ve even found a few articles that disprove my hypothesis, so it will be interesting squeezing those into my paper. I’m excited to see how this research paper all comes together.

One thought on “Where good researchers go to die

  1. I feel your pain with the difficulty to search the databases effectively. I thought just trying to narrow down the topic may help, but honestly haven’t had much success with that either. The results can be overwhelming and really repetitive.

Leave a Reply

